I’m Still Alive!

I figured that since I haven’t updated this blog since oh, APRIL, it was time to give you a quick photographic update on the things that have changed around here recently. First off, I no longer have my second job, so I will now have (Crossing fingers realllllly tight) more time for projects and updates!

 

One thing that never manages to change is how bizarre the cat is. This is her new favorite way to sleep. I’m serious. We’ve caught her like this multiple times!

What a weirdo!

She cuddles up to that wall like its a teddy bear. I don’t get it.

Remember those plants I was so desperate to have in the house? I’ve managed to only kill 2 of them!

We've got a live one!

This guy loves life. Seriously. I tend to forget to water it (which I should probably go do right now.. hmmmm) and yet there it is, happy as a clam in the sunlight πŸ™‚

This one on the other hand, did not love life very much. Sad, sad plant:

We are SO far beyond a code blue...

There’s only that one poor little leaf left. I may have to go get another one of the money trees, since it seems to be doing so well.

On to the kitchen plants:

The aloe plant and one on the right of it (i think it was a desert rose, but that might be the other one) are absolutely thriving! I’m going to have to think about re-potting the aloe in the near future. Those aloe plants never seem to fail me, and this one has already come in handy twice this summer πŸ™‚

Happy plants!

The other one? Not so much. I really don’t get what I managed to do wrong. I watered them all at the same time, and rotated the dish so that they got alternating amounts of sunlight. Maybe this one was just destined to die in my kitchen.

Sad plant

I really should get rid of the dead ones, it doesn’t set a good example for the rest of the plants. Then again, maybe thats what is scaring them into staying alive……

 

Moving on to Chris’ projects (which seriously outnumber mine at the moment) let’s revisit the beer cap table!

I need to do a much more serious update on this later, but for now, here’s a sneak peek!

Sneak peek #1

The bottle caps are being glued to the table! Chris made this gorgeous frame for the table, and it fits into the space on the wall perfectly!

Sneak Peek #2

He still has the template on top (which I managed to hit while taking pictures and moved all the caps.. shhhh) so you can kind of get an idea of what it will look like. I’m hoping this project wraps up soon so I can have that counter back. Chris is still looking for some more beer caps, so if anyone has any that are different (Magic Hat, Sam Adams, Bud, Corona, and Brooklyn Lager don’t count, we’ve got enough!) let me know! Donations accepted!!

Chris’ other recent projects came about when he got his nail gun. I cringed at the thought of a nail going through his hand until he made me this gorgeous little shelf/table for the bathroom. I had been DYING for some storage in there, and now I have it! I just need to decide whether to stain or paint it, and then get it done. Maybe this weekend??

Storage!

Its the perfect size. Not overwhelming in the TINY bathroom, and yet big enough to store all the essentials. I’m thinking some baskets and some glass containers to hold everything. I’ll keep you posted πŸ™‚

He also decided that due to all of his sports memorabilia (poor kid), he was seriously lacking on desk space. Now, mind you, he has an ipad, and the only time I see him sit at his desk is in the morning when he’s looking up his CrossFit workout, but thats apparently besides the point. With that handy-dandy new nail gun thing (which I am learning quickly to love) he made himself a shelf.

Shelf!

The question here is the same as the one in the bathroom. Does he paint it white to match the background that his jerseys are on? Does he stain it to match the desk? Or does he paint it blue to match the wall? I voted for the stain to match the desk. Any other thoughts??

Now for a super quick backyard picture. This is another update that will require it’s own post at some point in the VERY near future. We actually had a party out there for the 4th of July complete with backyard games, grilling, and outdoor eating! Mind you, we couldn’t really use the back corner as it still falls under “Jungle” status, but it’s WAY better than before. I think we’ll have to move the backyard warming party to fall or next spring, but at least it’s usable this year!

We have a wall!

Really. Thats all I’m going to show you of the backyard! Mean, I know, but I don’t want to waste all my potential posts on this update!

I hope you are all having a wonderful summer! Keep checking back for more updates!

One Response

  1. I would say that your cat is NOT normal, but considering our cats, I can hardly have an opinion. We’ll start saving you some more CA beer caps πŸ™‚ Any chance that nail gun wants to build a ramp?

Leave a Reply

