Breaking Out My Running Shoes

The weather is so nice today! Chris and I are out in the backyard right now working. Chris is digging in his dirt pile, and I’m blogging at the table. Typical 🙂 He has so much more patience with this project than I do. Right now he’s spending more time digging bricks out of the dirt than digging dirt out of the dirt! I would have given up a LONG time ago, kind of like I did with the Ivy.

Anyway, moving on. So I decided to break out my running shoes today.

For those of you who know me, for a long time I lived and breathed running. Was I great at it? No way, but I loved it. I loved it right up until the moment I ran the BAA Half Marathon in 2009 and wrecked my knee. It had taken me so long to get to the point where I could run those distances (and longer, helloo Boston Marathon 2009!) comfortably that I was devastated when I tried to start running again only to find that a mile made me want to keel over and die. For almost 18 months now I have been sans running, and my life has been a little sadder.

Cue my sister, who has always been the one to get me started on my newest obsessions (lulu, yoga, and twitter, just to name a few!). She’s been a running machine lately, and it totally made me miss it. Add to that the new blogs I’ve been finding (like Meganerdruns) and it was all I could do to keep myself on the couch for 5 more minutes. All of them expressed the same sentiments that I did. That first mile is the hardest. What separates the couch potatoes from the runners is simply getting up and going out the door again the next morning, and the one after that, and the one after that.

So on that note, weather permitting, I will be back on the road again tomorrow in my Lulu running crops and my Addidas running sneaks. I’m setting my sights back on my favorite race: The Marathon. I’m thinking possibly Boston 2012 if I can get my charity number back, and the Chicago Marathon 2012 in October (you know you want to run it with me Beth!!). In the meantime, anyone with any great 5k,10k, and half races in mind, send me a message!

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for the shout out! 😉

  2. Maybe you’ll inspire me to walk enough that your Mom and I can walk some 5 or 10K’s while you run!

Leave a Reply

