Tan is the New Black

At least in my bathroom it is. It’s the only color that goes with the (how do I put this delicately…?) retro fixtures that we currently have. While pink and green look lovely together on Easter, it’s a little more difficult to make it look as splendid in a bathroom.

I decided last week that enough was enough, and that I was going to make the bathroom look like a “grown up bathroom”. My problem with decorating has always been that I pick up things to decorate here and there, and never figure out a plan for the room I’m decorating.

This time was different.  We already had tan and white bath towels that seemed to more or less go with the room so I wanted to build on that. I figured a few key accessories to go with what I already had would help tie the room together.

With the approval of Chris (and the pin number for the checking account!) I was on my merry way to Bed Bath and Beyond to get this project off the ground. I purchased a new shower curtain:

Tan is great!

A tooth brush holder:

Home Sweet Tooth Brush Home!

A soap dispenser that I apparently didn’t feel the need to take a picture of, and a soap dish that I did take a picture of:

Soap Dish!

I also got some new potpourri that smells like Vanilla Cake to take the place of the purple candle that no longer matched my put together bathroom.

Vanilla Cake!

And then of course I kept taking pictures of the same thing. Honestly, sometimes I just take it as a challenge to see how many different pictures of the same thing I can get.

Alternate View 1

Alternate View 2!

Ok, Back to the point of this entry. Here’s the trashcan that I bought. Seriously, I matched EVERYTHING!

Overall, I’m starting to feel much better about the bathroom. I have towels, accessories, and nice potpourri. Now if only I had a floor that didn’t have a huge piece of 2×4 in the middle of it…..

Leave a Reply

